Global Planning Education Committee
Share |

The charge of this committee is to prioritize and implement a set of activities that builds on the recommendations laid out in the 2019 Global Education Task Force report, “Building Global Perspectives on Planning Education”. This may include but is not limited to efforts to build the capacity of urban planning programs to address global issues, fully engage international students, and strengthen ties to and co-exchanges with planning institutions globally.

  • Yingling Fan, University of Minnesota, [2019-2022]
  • Lesli Hoey, University of Michigan, [2019-2022]
  • Ashok Das, University of Hawaii, [2019-2021]
  • Petra Doan, Florida State University, [2019-2022]
  • Gavin Shatkin, Northeastern University, [2019-2022]
  • Bruce Stiftel, Georgia Institute of Technology, [2019-2022]
  • Clara Irazabal Zurita, University of Missouri-Kansas City, [2019-2021]
  • GPEAN Representative: Francis Owusu, Iowa State University, [2019-2021]


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309