Task Force on Enrollment
Share |

The Task Force on Enrollment will explore opportunities and challenges faced by graduate planning education: to characterize the evolving demand for North American planning degrees, the placements of our graduates, and the extent to which their jobs involve STEM skills; determine why and how some programs have received STEM designation for their planning degrees; assess how interest in STEM designation varies across domestic and international students; and recommend whether ACSP should pursue a STEM designation for the field as a whole. Deliberation on these issues will focus on master’s programs. A secondary goal for the task force will be to explore opportunities and challenges faced by doctoral education in planning.

A recent PowerPoint presentation on preliminary findings by this task force can be found here.


The term of this task force begins in the summer of 2018 and continues through the 2020 Annual Conference.

  • Co-Chair: Clint Andrews, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, cja1@rutgers.edu [2018-2020]
  • Co-Chair: Lucie Laurian, University of Iowa [2018-2020]
  • John Landis, University of Pennsylvania [2018-2020]
  • Dawn Jourdan, Texas A&M University [2018-2020]
  • Joe Grengs, University of Michigan [2018-2020]
  • Laura Solitaire, Texas Southern University [2018-2020]
  • Ellie Masoomkhah, Clemson University [2018-2020]


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309