Student Award - FWIG Marsha Ritzdorf Award
Share |

Submission Window Closed


The Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning has been given by the ACSP Faculty Women's Interest Group since 1998 and recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. A nomination should be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/ city/ community/ town/ regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school.

This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD provided by the ACSP. The winner is invited to present their paper at a special Student Award Paper Session during the Annual Conference and if available to do so, will be provided waived conference registration to attend.



The deadline for submissions for this award is June 1 using the form below


Submission Information

Papers are not to exceed 35 double-spaced pages, and must be accompanied by a nomination letter from a faculty member.




Past Award Winners

  • 2019 Karla Jimenez-Magdaleno, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • 2018 Jody Liu, The Bartlett School of Planning, University College London
  • 2017 Two Winners: Wes Grooms, University of Louisville; and Armin Jeddi Yeganeh, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • 2016 Mercedes Sharpe Zayas, University of Toronto
  • 2015 Cate Mingoya, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2014 Lauren Garrott, Kansas State University
  • 2013 Jenny Cadigan, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • 2012 Lizzie Hessmiller, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2011 Isabelle Anguelovski, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2010 Mia White, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2009 Auvniet Kaur Tehara, University of Toronto
  • 2007 Ahmed Abukhater, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2006 Jordana Ross
  • 2005 Elsie Achugbue, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2004 Tara Kumar
  • 2003 Karen Pooley, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2002 Susan Chivaratanond, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2001 Isabel Domeyko, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2000 Richard S. Cho, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1999 Ivan Banda, Thomasz Bielecki, Tanya Boyce, Katie Chin, Lise Dorestant, Colette Gill, Drew Kirlazides, Rigoberto M. Lopez, Sarah Massey, Chris Ryan, Sumona Samanta, Robert Tyrell; Hunter College, CUNY
  • 1998 Stacy Harwood, University of Southern California


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309