Student Award - Ed McClure Award for Best Masters Paper
Share |

Submission Window Now Open! See below.


The Ed McClure Award recognizes superior scholarship in a paper prepared by a masters student in an ACSP-member school. Submissions may address any topic of investigation generated in the course of pursuing a master’s degree in urban/city/community/town/regional planning.

This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD provided by the ACSP. The student is invited to present the award-winning paper at the Student Award Paper Session at the Annual Conference and the ACSP will waive the conference registration fee if the student is able to attend the conference and present their paper.



The deadline for submissions for this award is June 1 using the form below.



  • Nominations (limited to one per program) must come from the program chairperson or the faculty advisor; students are urged to ask the appropriate faculty members to nominate their papers.
  • Nominations should indicate the course for which the paper was prepared, and optionally may include a note from the instructor of this course recommending or explaining the context of the paper.
  • Papers should be the individual work of the nominated student, and should result from a one-term regular class.
  • Master's theses, terminal professional reports and student group projects are not eligible.
  • Papers should have been prepared during academic year 2017-2018.
  • The PDF paper submission should not exceed 45 pages of text including graphics, must be double (or 1.5) spaced with margins of 1" or greater and have a font not less than 12 points.



  • Chair: Joshua Drucker, University of Illinois at Chicago,
  • Chris Tilly, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Hilary Nixon, San Jose State University
  • Bryce Lowery, University of Oklahoma


Past Award Winners

  • 2018 Jen Jenkins, University of Illinois - Chicago
  • 2017 Rachel Gaffney, University of Oklahoma
  • 2016 Elizabeth Reed Yarina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2015 No winner
  • 2014 Max Taffet, Cornell University
  • 2013 Jesse Abraham Zaro-Moore, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2012 Jeremy Steinemann, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2011 Adam Yagelski, University at Albany, SUNY
  • 2010 Troels Adrian, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2009 Bryan Rodda, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2008 Maggie Chien, York University
  • 2007 Martine August, University of Toronto
  • 2006 Benjamin Saltsman, University of Southern California
  • 2005 John B. Richardson, Florida State University
  • 2004 Jessica Zenk, University of California, Berkeley
  • 2003 Gregory D. Morrow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2002 Kate Fichter, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2001 Philip D’Anieri, University of Michigan
  • 2000 Joshua Drucker, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 1999 Anne Dibble, University of Michigan
  • 1998 Edward “Ted” Kamp, University of Colorado, Denver
  • 1997 Susan Silberberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Jack Sylvan, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1996 Lynn Pikholz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1995 Philippa Campsie, University of Toronto
  • 1994 Dora Epstein, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1993 Stephen Rebori, University of Tennessee
  • 1992 Michael Parke, University of Hawaii
  • 1991 Michael Daugherty, Cleveland State University
  • 1990 Deanna Matsumoto, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1989 Stan Fritterman, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 1987 David Blatt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 1985 John Metzger, University of Illinois at Chicago


Please use the application form below.

If you have trouble with your submission, please contact Thank you!





2500 of 2500 characters remaining


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309