Faculty Award - Jay Chatterjee Distinguished Service to ACSP Award
Share |

Nominations Now Closed


Presented in even-numbered years.

The Jay Chatterjee Distinguished Service to ACSP Award, since 1998, has recognized individual faculty whose exceptional service, actions and leadership have had a lasting and positive impact on ACSP and its member schools.

Winners will be introduced at the ACSP Annual Conference Faculty Awards Luncheon. Profiles and media announcements of winners and their accomplishments will follow the conference.



The deadline for nominations is June 1 using the nomination form below.


Nomination Information

  • Nominations may come from faculty or administrators at ACSP-member schools.
  • Nominations must include a letter that states the ways in which the nominee has, through his or her service, contributed to the enhancement of ACSP's mission;
  • Nominations should also include at least two letters of support from individuals, not within the nominee's own institution, who are familiar with the nominee's contributions to ACSP.
  • Nominations submitted in one year will not be held over for consideration in future years. Current nominations must be received in each award cycle.


Biography of Jayanta Chatterjee

Professor Jaytanta Chatterjee, FAICP, served as Dean of the College of DAAP from 1982-2001. His leadership resulted in the development of a process whereby the world's leading architects were commissioned to design major buildings for the University of Cincinnati. DAAP's own complex, the Aronoff Center of Art and Design, served as the model for successive campus projects. He has received numerous awards and honors, including: the 1991 ACSP award from the Association of the Collegiate Schools of Planning, an annual award which was later named in his honor; the1996 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Department of City and Regional Planning at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; an Apple Award in 1996 from the Architectural Foundation of Cincinnati, the Lifetime Achievement Post-Corbett Award in Cincinnati in 1999; induction as a Fellow of the AICP in 1999; and the Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Architecture from the American Institute of Architects in 2000. Professor Chatterjee serves on many major civic and professional committees for the City of Cincinnati, including the Urban Design Review Board and the Contemporary Arts Center Board of Trustees. He is a past-president (1983-85) of the national Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) and a past founding member of the Planning Accreditation Board (PAB).



  • Chair: Mai Nguyen, University of North Carolina, mai@unc.edu
  • Daniel Hess, University at Buffalo, SUNY
  • Deden Rukmana, Alabama A&M University
  • Barry Nocks, Clemson University


Past Award Winners

  • 2018 Charles Connerly, University of Iowa
  • 2016 June M.Thomas, University of Michigan
  • 2014 Dick Klosterman, University of Akron
  • 2012 Michael Hibbard, University of Oregon
  • 2009 Ed Blakely, University of Sydney
  • 2008 Bruce Stiftel, Florida State University
  • 2007 Sandi Rosenbloom, University of Arizona
  • 2006 Eugenie L. Birch, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2005 Marcia Marker Feld, University of Rhode Island
  • 2004 G. William Page, University of Buffalo
  • 2002 Michael P. Brooks, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 2001 Rolf Engler, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1999 Jerome Kaufman, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • 1998 Michael Teitz, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1997 Award re-named to honor Jay Chatterjee
  • 1991 Jay Chatterjee, University of Cincinnati
  • 1987 Carl Goldschmidt, Michigan State University




The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309