News & Press: ACSP Annual Conference News

ACSP2020 Student Award Winners Announced

Tuesday, September 1, 2020  
Share |

Nominations were received, committees have deliberated and decisions have been made! ACSP is thrilled to announce the winners of the ACSP2020 Student Awards, who have distinguished themselves among their peers!

And, winners are (drumroll please)...

ACSP/FWIG Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning
Afsheen Sadaf, University of Florida
The Role of Built Environment, Personal, Religious, Cultural and Socioeconomic Factors in Increasing Overweight and Obesity Rate in Women VS Men: A Case Study of Karachi, Pakistan

Barclay Gibbs Jones Award for Best Dissertation in Planning
Stephen Averill Sherman
Governing Bodies through Space, Governing Space through Bodies

Don Schön Award for Excellence in Learning From Practice
Dawn Smith, University of British Columbia
A Day in the Life of a Planner: Reflective Thinking Exercise

Ed McClure Award for Best Masters Student Paper
Allison Evans, York University
Unpacking the Settler City:  The Spatiality of Colonialism in Thunder Bay

Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning
Hayden Shelby, University of California at Berkeley
Never Settled: Community, Land, and the Politics of the Urban Commons in Bangkok

Karen R. Polenske Award for Outstanding Student Paper on a China-Related Topic
Julia Harten, USC Price
Housing Single Women: Gender in China’s Shared Rental Housing Market

Student "Travel Award" Winners

This year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and travel restrictions, ACSP was able to use travel scholarship funds to give an unprecedented amount of complimentary student registrations and lower the overall cost of student registration for our virtual event, which will hopefully enable more student participation than ever before! This is also the first year we used a “one application” process for the travel awards with one selection committee comprised of representatives from all of the ACSP interest groups.

The 16 students applicants who will receive complimentary registration, will be notified by email.

Congratulations to all of our student paper winners and scholarship recipients!

We will be taking "A Closer Look" at our student award winners over the next few weeks. Look for these feature profiles in eNews, on our website and social media.

A special thank you to all of the award committees for all of your hard work and dedication to ACSP! We look forward to "seeing" you all at ACSP2020!


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309