News & Press: ACSP Annual Conference News

Announcing #ACSP2019 Student Award Winners

Tuesday, August 13, 2019  
Share |

Nominations were received, committees have deliberated and decisions have been made! ACSP is thrilled to announce the winners of the #ACSP2019 Student Awards!

The 2019 student award winners are ...

ACSP/FWIG Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning:
Karla Jimenez, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Disrupted: An Exploration of Eviction and Implications on Health in Durham, NC

Barclay Gibbs Jones Award for Best Dissertation in Planning:
Magdalena Ugarte, University of British Columbia
Normative Worlds Clashing: State Planning, Indigenous Self-Determination, and the Possibilities of Legal Pluralism in Chile

Don Schön Award for Excellence in Learning From Practice:
Cauam Ferreira Cardoso, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Co-creating a Culture of Technology Evaluation in a Grassroots, Women-Led Organization in India

Ed McClure Award for Best Masters Student Paper
Esteban Doyle, University of California, Los Angeles
The Unequal Dangers of Walking to School

Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning
Shruti Syal, University of Illinois at Urbana –Champaig
A Socio-Ecological Systems Perspective on Planning for Informality: The Case of Delhi’s Stormwater Drain-Adjacent Settlements

The travel scholarship winners are ...

Gill-Chin Lim Scholarship for Student Travel

• Ahmad Bonakdar, University of Texas at Arlington
• Rebecca Crane, University of California, Los Angeles
• Elizabeth Marcello, Columbia University
• Manuel Santana Palacios, University of California, Berkeley
• Ioanna Tsoulou, Rutgers University
• Kailai Wang, The Ohio State University

ACSP-POCIG Scholarship for Student Travel

• Patrice Williams, Florida State University
• Ariam Torres Cordero, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
• Sayma Khajehei, Iowa State University

Gill-Chin Lim Student Travel Awards

• Julia Harten, University of Southern California
• Khushboo Gupta, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

We will be taking "A Closer Look" at our student award winners over the next few weeks. Look for these feature profiles in eNews, on our website and social media!  

Thank you again to our 2019 award committees for all of your hard work and dedication to ACSP!


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309