News & Press: ACSP News

ACSP Announces 2019 Best Paper Award Winners Sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

Tuesday, June 25, 2019  
Share |

ACSP would like to thank everyone who participated in the inaugural launch of the Best Paper on Planning& Entrepreneurship Awards sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation! We are proud to announce this year's winners:

  • Best Faculty Paper
    Industrial inheritances: Makers, relatedness and materiality in New York and Chicago (PDF Download, 15mb)
    Co-Authors: Max Eisenburger, Marc Doussard, & Laura Wolf-Powers
    Additional Contributors: Greg Schrock & Stephen Marotta
  • Best Student Paper
    Feasibility Assessment of an Innovation District in Buffalo (PDF Download, 7mb)
    Under the direction of Dr. Ernest Sternberg, 12 University at Buffalo graduate students developed the winning paper: Nkosi Alleyne, Rachel Bailey, Jocelyne Bello, Courtney Domst, Sarah Donohue, Megan Koury, Eli Levine, Maria Melchiorre, Nicholas Miller, Evan Roorand, Julia White, & Vita Wu

This new competition, offering two $1,500 awards, will be granted to one faculty and one student each year for three years. Both awards are sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation initiative to broaden disciplinary focus on entrepreneurship research.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s winners!


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2910 Kerry Forest Parkway, D4-206 • Tallahassee, FL 32309