Student Award - FWIG Marcia Ritzdorf Award
Share |

Deadline: June 1

The Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning is given by the ACSP Faculty Women's Interest Group and recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. A nomination should be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/ city/ community/ town/ regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school.

This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD, which is presented at the ACSP Annual Conference, where the winner is also invited to present their paper at a special session.

Papers are not to exceed 35 double-spaced pages, and must be accompanied by a nomination letter from a faculty member.

The Marsha Ritzdorf Award Committee

  • Kathryn Quick, Chair, University of Minnesota,
  • Kristen Crossney, West Chester University
  • Orly Linovski, University of Manitoba
  • Lynn McCormick, Hunter College
  • Rosie Tighe, Cleveland State University
  • Yiping Fang, Portland State University

Past Award Winners

The entire history of award winners can be found here at




The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.