Faculty Award - Paul Davidoff Book Award
Share |

Deadline for Nominations - April 15 - this submission window is now closed.

Awarded in odd-numbered years

The Paul Davidoff award celebrated its 30th year in 2015. It is given by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) to honor the memory of Davidoff, an eminent planner who established the field of advocacy planning and who was an unyielding force for justice and social equity in the profession. This award has been given every other year since 1985.

Paul Davidoff viewed planning as a process to address a wide range of societal problems and to improve conditions for all people. He challenged academics and professionals alike to find ways to promote participatory planning and positive social change; to overcome poverty and racism and to reduce disparities in society. Before his untimely death, he implemented major contributions to the field as an educator, practitioner and intellectual. His influence in planning extends to this day. His work constitutes a watershed in the theory and practice of community planning.

The Paul Davidoff award recognizes an outstanding book publication regarding participatory planning and positive social change, opposing poverty and racism as factors in society and seeking ways to address social and place-based inequalities.


  • The nominated work must be a book. If the nominated publication is an edited book, it will be considered if it is a coherent whole [other edited books, articles and reports are not eligible].
  • The nominated work may have single or multiple authors.
  • The nominated book must have been published within five (5) years of the date of the award.
  • Previously nominated books may be re-nominated and will be considered anew.
  • The nominated book must relate to the practice or theory of planning or provide critical background concepts or research important to the profession of planning.
  • The nominated book must reflect Paul Davidoff’s commitments and values in a manner consistent with the high quality of all his endeavors.

Who may nominate
Nominations may come from any individual or organization including publishers, academics, public or private organizations, agencies or institutions. Agencies are limited to three nominations; faculty and students may be involved in the identification of nominations.

The nomination process
Each nomination requires a submission of the nomination form below, one copy of the book directly to each of the committee members, and a letter of nomination which includes:

  • The authors’ name, publication title, place and date
  • A brief abstract of contents
  • A summary statement of the consistency of the submission with the award purposes and the quality of the contribution
  • The name and email address of each author
  • No more than three (3) letters of support of the nominated book (optional)

Form submission deadline is April 15, and books must be mailed to each committee member postmarked by April 15, 2017. All supporting letters must be received through the form below, or by the Committee Chair by April 15th if sent by email.

We welcome your nominations!


The 2017 Paul Davidoff Award Committee

  • Jason Corburn, Co-Chair, University of California, Berkeley, jcorburn@berkeley.edu
  • Ananya Roy, Co-Chair, University of California, Los Angeles, ananya@luskin.ucla.edu
  • Gerardo Sandoval, University of Oregon, gsando@uoregon.edu
  • William Goldsmith, Cornell University, wwg1@cornell.ed

Past Award Winners

The entire history of award winners can be found here at www.acsp.org, PUBLICATIONS AND ARCHIVES then ARCHIVES then AWARDS.



The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.