Student Award - GPEIG Gill-Chin Lim Best Dissertation
Share |

Deadline: June 1

In recognition of the commitment of our late colleague, Gill-Chin Lim, to the study of humanistic aspects of globalization, the ACSP Global Planners Educators Interest Group (GPEIG) has established an award in his name: The GPEIG Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning. This award is funded annually by the Consortium of Development Studies (CODS), which was founded by Dr. Gill-Chin Lim in 1982. The Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning recognizes superior scholarship in a doctoral dissertation completed by a student enrolled in an ACSP-member school.

The Dissertation Committee chairperson jointly with the department chair or director of graduate studies will make the nominations. It is expected that submissions will be selected through a participatory faculty and student process. The nominees must have received their degree in the two years preceding the deadline.

The award committee will evaluate the submissions based on: a) innovative scholarship and perspective that advance the understanding of the diverse processes of international planning in the global context, with a special focus on low-income countries of the “Global South;” b) relation to global cooperation, global social responsibility, global ethics, and respect for global diversity pursued by GPEIG; c) creativity in exploring/proposing international planning alternatives; and d) organization, structure, style, clarity, and originality.

  • The winner will be invited to present the award winning paper in a special session on the Saturday of the Annual Conference.
  • This award includes a $1,000 cash grant and waived full student conference registration.


  • One file to include: The full dissertation (including table of contents and abstract); two letters of recommendation, one of which must be from the chair of the nominee’s dissertation committee indicating why the nominated dissertation is deserving of the award; and official university document indicating the date of award of the degree.

Gill-Chin Lim Award Committee

  • Lucie Laurian, Chair, University of Iowa,
  • Ruth Yabes, University of Florida
  • Emel Ganapati, Florida International University

Past Award Winners

The entire history of award winners can be found here at, PUBLICATIONS AND ARCHIVES then ARCHIVES then AWARDS.




The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.