Faculty Award - Chester Rapkin JPER
Share |

The Chester Rapkin Award for the Best Paper in the Journal of Planning Education and Research is awarded annually. All papers published in the Journal are automatically considered. Members of the award committee are appointed by the editors of the journal.

This award carries a .cash grant supported by an endowment at the University of Illinois Foundation in Urbana. Persons wishing to contribute to this endowment may send checks, noting contribution to the Chester Rapkin Fund, payable to the University of Illinois Foundation. Send contributions directly to:

Prof. Lewis Hopkins
Department of Urban and Regional Planning
University of Illinois
111 Buell Hall MC619
Champaign, IL 61820

The award was founded for JPER of ACSP by the co-editors, Lew Hopkins and Gill-Chin Lim, in honor of Professor Rapkin at his retirement. As a distinguished educator, he mentored 70 doctoral and numerous master students at the University of Pennsylvania, Columbia and Princeton. As a pioneering researcher, Professor Rapkin authored 15 books and monographs and more than 100 professional articles, plans and reports. He was the Executive Director of the White House task force that proposed the Model Cities Program under President Lindon B. Johnson. From 1969 to 1977 he served on the New York City Planning Commission under Mayors John Lindsay and Abraham Beame.

Past Award Winners

The entire history of award winners can be found here at www.acsp.org, PUBLICATIONS AND ARCHIVES then ARCHIVES then AWARDS.


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.