Congratulations to our ACSP 2013 Faculty and Student Award Winners!

2013 Faculty Awards

Distinguished Educator Award
2013 Awardee: Raymond Burby, Professor Emeritus, University of North Carolina

The ACSP Distinguished Educator Award is presented in appreciation of significant contributions to the field of planning. The awardee is selected from candidates who are nominated by ACSP members. Nominations come from members of the faculty of ACSP member schools. The criteria for nominations for the ACSP Distinguished Educator Award are:

  • Scholarly Contributions: Publications, presentations, seminal work, research grants, etc.
  • Teaching Excellence: Awards, teaching evaluations, reference of colleagues, and student community, etc.
  • Service: Ranging over twenty years or more; contributions to ACSP, APA, AICP, and other professional and academic organizations; roles in local, state, federal commissions and agencies as policy advisors; contributions to one's university.
  • Significant Contributions: Contributions that have made a significant difference to planning scholarship, education and practice.

Meyerson Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education
2013 Winner: Christopher Silver, University of Florida

The ACSP award called the Martin Meyerson Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education recognizes sustained contributions in academic administration by an urban/regional planning scholar/educator that have led to significant national and/or international impacts on higher education. This award is presented every other year at the ACSP Administrator’s Conference.

Paul Davidoff Book Award
2013 Winner: Climbing Mount Laurel: The Struggle for Affordable Housing and Social Mobility in an American Suburb by Douglas S. Massey, Princeton University; Len Albright, Northeastern University; Rebecca Casciano, Rebecca Casciano, LLC; Elizabeth Derickson, Princeton University; David Kinsey, Princeton University/Kinsey & Hand.

2013 Honorable Mention: Immigrants and the Revitalization of Los Angeles: Development and Change in MacArthur Park by Gerardo Sandoval, University of Oregon.

The Paul Davidoff award is presented by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) to honor the memory of a revered and respected activist academic in the field of modern city planning. The Paul Davidoff award was established in 1981 by ACSP and is one of the most prestigious honors in the academic planning field. The Paul Davidoff award recognizes an outstanding book publication promoting participatory planning and positive social change, opposing poverty and racism as factors in society and seeking ways to reduce disparities between rich and poor; white and black; men and women.

Chester Rapkin Award for Best Paper in JPER
2013 Winner: Bill Lester, JPER [September 2012] v.32: 331-348: Labor Standards and Local Economic Development: Do Living Wage Provisions Harm Economic Growth?

The Chester Rapkin Award for the Best Paper in the Journal of Planning Education and Research is awarded annually. All papers published in the Journal are automatically considered. The Award was founded for JPER of ACSP by the co-editors, Lew Hopkins and Gill-Chin Lim, in honor of Professor Rapkin at his retirement.


Edward McClure Award for the Best Masters Student Paper
The McClure Award recognizes superior scholarship in a paper prepared by a Masters student in an ACSP-member school. Submissions may address any topic of investigation generated in the course of pursuing a master’s degree in urban/city/community/town/regional planning.

2013 Winner: Jesse Abraham Zaro-Moore, Georgia Institute of Technology, “Notes from the Field on NSP1, NSP2, and NSP3: Policy Alternatives for Mitigating the Effects of Foreclosed and Abandoned Properties on Neighborhoods”

Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning
In recognition of the commitment of our late colleague, Gill-Chin Lim, to the study of humanistic aspects of globalization, the ACSP Global Planners Educators Interest Group (GPEIG) has established an award in his name. The Gill-Chin Lim Award for the Best Dissertation on International Planning recognizes superior scholarship in a doctoral dissertation completed by a student enrolled in an ACSP-member school.

2013 Winner: Sai Balakrishan, Harvard University, “Land Conflicts and Cooperatives along Pune’s Highways: Managing India’s Agrarian to Urban Transition”

Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning
This award recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. Submissions may be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/city/community/town/regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school.

2013 Winner: Jenny Cadigan, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, “Paradox of Plenty: A Community Roadmap for Overcoming Hunger in San Luis Obispo County”