News & Press: ACSP Annual Conference News

#ACSP2017 Faculty Award Winners

Monday, October 23, 2017  
Share |

More than 1,000 planning academics from across the globe came together for the 57th Annual Conference (#ACSP2017) in Denver, Colorado earlier this month. Over 20 countries were represented, as well as 25 exhibitors. The culmination of the conference was the Faculty Awards Luncheon. Congratulations to all of the following #ACSP2017 Faculty Award Winners!

ACSP Distinguished Educator
Donald Shoup, University of California at Los Angeles

Martin Meyerson Award for Distinguished Leadership in Higher Education
Wim Wiewel, Lewis & Clark College

Paul Davidoff Book Award
Global Heartland: Displaced Labor, Translational Lives, and Local Placemaking
by Faranak Miraftab, University of Illinois

Marcia Feld Award
Carissa Slotterback, University of Minnesota

Chester Rapkin Award for the Best Paper in the Journal of Planning Education Research
Genevieve Giuliano, University of Southern California
Sandip Chakrabarti, University of Southern California
Mohja Rhoads, South Bay Cities Council of Governments, UCLA

JPER Top Reviewer Awards, Editorial Board Members
Michael Manville, University of California at Los Angeles
Reid Ewing, University of Utah

JPER Top Reviewers, Non-editorial Board Members
Mi Shih, Rutgers University
Alan Mallach, Center for Community Progress

Planning Accreditation Board 2017 Outstanding Site Visitor Award
Educator Award Winner:
Emil Malizia, PhD, FAICP
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Practicioner Award Winner:
Carol Barrett, FAICP
Senior Associate Zucker Systems

Look for up-coming A Closer Look profiles on the award winners. 


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2927 Kerry Forest Parkway • Tallahassee FL 32309