News & Press: ACSP Annual Conference News

Congratulations to all of the Student Travel Award Recipients for #ACSP2017

Monday, October 9, 2017  
Share |

ACSP would like to recognize the following Student Travel Scholarship recipients:

ACSP Scholarship for Student Travel
These scholarships provide financial support for students to attend the ACSP Annual Conference, including student conference registration waiver and $500 USD in cash to defray travel expenses.

  • Anne Brown, University of California at Los Angeles
  • Sarah Cooper, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Carla Maria Kayanan, University of Michigan
  • Andrea Restrepo-Mieth, Cornell University
  • Laura Alejandra Reyes Ruiz, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Austin Zwick, University of Toronto

ACSP-POCIG Scholarship for Student Travel
The Planners of Color Interest Group provides travel scholarships for underrepresented minority doctoral students to attend the annual ACSP conference. The conference is an important venue for students to meet other students, planning faculty, and attend activities such as panels, workshops, business meetings, and receptions. The scholarship's purpose fits with the larger POCIG goal to support and mentor minority doctoral students as they complete their degrees and increase the number of planning faculty of color.

  • John Arroyo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Matthew Miller, University of Southern California

Gill-Chin Lim Student Travel Awards
The ACSP Global Planners Educators Interest Group (GPEIG) supports student travel to the annual conference.

  • Jaehyeon Park, University of California at Los Angeles
  • Justin Stern, Harvard University
  • Hogeun Park, Michigan State University

ACSP Book Fair Publishers Student Travel Scholarship
Generous book publishers have become accustomed to donating books after exhibiting at the ACSP conferences. This allows ACSP to use them as a fundraiser, selling them for half the retail price on the last day of the conference. Since 2005 all of the sale proceeds have gone toward travel scholarships for first-time student presenters at the next year’s conference.

  • Xueying Chen, Rutgers University
  • Jessica Fisch, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Sophie Kelmenson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Woolack Kim, University of Cincinnati
  • Somayeh Moazzeni, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Reza Sardari, University of Texas at Arlington



The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning promotes education, research, service and outreach in the United States and throughout the world by seeking to:

  • recognize diverse needs and interests in planning;
  • improve and enhance the accreditation process, and;
  • strengthen the role of planning education in colleges and universities through publications, conferences, and community engagement;
  • extend planning beyond the classroom into the world of practice.


2927 Kerry Forest Parkway • Tallahassee FL 32309