Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning

Deadline: June 30, 2015
Award given annually.
(recent photos of winners)

The 2015 award will be presented in the fall at the ACSP Annual Conference in Houston. The winner will also be asked to present their paper at this conference.

This award recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. Submissions may be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/city/community/town/regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school. This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD.

Submissions must not exceed 35 double-spaced pages. Those pages should be in 12 point or larger font with at least 1" margins. The paper should include: a cover sheet (showing the student’s full contact information, the name of the student’s program and university, contact information for the faculty nominator, the student's signature, faculty nominator's signature, and an indication that this paper is not being nominated for any other ACSP award); and a letter of nomination from a faculty member. Please note, faculty involvement in the paper should be limited to an advisory role.

These materials should be sent electronically before June 30, 2015 to the committee chair.

The Marsha Ritzdorf Award Committee

Hilary Nixon, Chair
San Jose State University
Voice: 408.924.5852

Mai Thi Nguyen
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Voice: 919.962.3983

Anne Taufen Wessells
University of Washington Tacoma
Voice: 253.692.4319