Edward McClure Award for the Best Masters Student Paper

Deadline: June 30, 2014
(recent photos of winners)

The 2013 award was announced at the ACSP Administrator's Conference, November 14-17, but will be presented in the Fall of 2014. The winner will also be asked to present the paper at the Fall 2014 Annual Conference.

The Ed McClure Award recognizes superior scholarship in a paper prepared by a masters student in an ACSP-member school. Submissions may address any topic of investigation generated in the course of pursuing a master’s degree in urban/city/community/town/regional planning.

Papers should result from a one-term regular class. Master's theses, terminal professional reports and student group projects are NOT eligible. Submissions should have been prepared during academic year 2012-2013 or 2013-2014. Nominations (limited to one per program) must come from the program chairperson or the faculty advisor; students are urged to ask the appropriate faculty members to nominate their papers. Nominations should indicate the course for which the paper was prepared. This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD, a certificate, plus full student registration to the conference.

Submissions, not exceeding 45 pages of text including graphics, must be double (or 1.5) spaced with margins of 1" or greater and a font not less than 12 points. Send electronic version of paper plus letter of nomination by a faculty member to the committee chair in a Word or pdf file with “McClure Submit” in the subject line by June 30, 2014.

The Edward McClure Award Committee:

Robin Boyle, Chair
Wayne State University
Term: 2013 - present
Email: aa2815@wayne.edu

Joshua Drucker
University of Illinois at Chicago
Term: 2012 - present
Voice: 312/413-7597
Email: jdruck@uic.edu

Michael Larice
University of Utah
Term: 2013 - present
Email: larice@arch.utah.edu