Chester Rapkin Award for Best Paper in JPER

(recent photos of winners)

The Chester Rapkin Award for the Best Paper in the Journal of Planning Education and Research is awarded annually. All papers published in the Journal are automatically considered. Members of the award committee are appointed by the Editors of the Journal.

This award carries a cash grant supported by an endowment at the University of Illinois Foundation in Urbana. Persons wishing to contribute to this endowment may send checks, noting contribution to the Chester Rapkin Fund, payable to the University of Illinois Foundation, c/o Prof. Lewis Hopkins, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Illinois, 111 Buell Hall MC619, Champaign, IL 61820.

The Award was founded for JPER of ACSP by the co-editors, Lew Hopkins and Gill-Chin Lim, in honor of Professor Rapkin at his retirement. As a distinguished educator, he mentored 70 doctoral and numerous master students at the University of Pennsylvania, Columbia and Princeton. As a pioneering researcher, Professor Rapkin authored 15 books and monographs and more than 100 professional articles, plans and reports. He was the Executive Director of the White House task force that proposed the Model Cities Program under President Lindon B. Johnson. From 1969 to 1977 he served on the New York City Planning Commission under Mayors John Lindsay and Abraham Beame.

The Chester A. Rapkin Award Committee:

Matti Siemiatycki, Chair, v.33
Term: 2012 - present
Department of Geography
University of Toronto
Sidney Smith Hall, 100 St. George Street, Room 5041
Toronto, Ontario  M5S 3G3  Canada

Dick Klosterman, Chair, v.34
Term: 2013 - present
Hudson, Ohio

Ayse Pamuk, Chair, v.35
Term: 2014 - Present
School of Public Affairs and Civic Engagement
San Francisco State University, HSS210
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA  94132