ACSP Distinguished Educator Award

Deadline: July 1, 2015
Awarded in odd-numbered years

(recent photos of winners)

The ACSP Distinguished Educator Award is presented in appreciation of significant contributions to the field of planning. The awardee is selected from candidates who are nominated by ACSP members. Nominations must come from members of the faculty of ACSP member schools. The nominations should include the following: CV and nomination letter from the nominator(s) responding to the specified criteria with supporting letters from at least two persons not within the candidate's own institution. Members of the ACSP Distinguished Educator Award Committee will then choose the awardee from these nominees. Nominees not chosen in their first cycle will be carried foward to the next cycle and considered a second time. Nominators may provide updated materials if they wish.

The criteria for nominations to the ACSP Distinguished Educator Award are:

  • Scholarly Contributions: Publications and presentations, seminal work, research grants, etc.
  • Teaching Excellence: Awards, teaching evaluations, reference of colleagues, and student community, etc.
  • Service: Ranging over twenty years or more; contributions to ACSP, APA, AICP, and other professional and academic organizations; roles in local, state, federal commissions and agencies as policy advisors; contributions to one's university.
  • Significant Contributions: Contributions that have made a significant difference to planning scholarship, education and practice.

Deadline for applications: Send electronically to the chair by July 1, 2015.

For further information contact the committee chair.

Distinguished Educator Award Committee

Ed Goetz, Committee Chair
University of Minnesota
Term: 2013 - 2017

Weiping Wu
Tufts University
Term: 2013 - 2017

Mildred Warner
Cornell University
Term: 2015-2017